back to article Stolen laptops fuel industrial espionage fears for UK software firm

A UK-based hi-tech firm that's become the victim of "industrial espionage" is offering a reward for information leading to the arrest of those responsible for stealing its computer hardware. Thieves who stole a number of laptops from VBi Triscan Systems also lifted hard disks from the fuel management firm's servers sometime …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Alexander Hanff

Market Leaders?

Interesting, I worked as a trainer and consultant for a US based software company who provide fuel management software for the major oil/petroleum companies (globally). They could be classed as market leaders, but I have never heard of the so called market leader referenced in this article...

2. Nick O'Sullivan

Why not to encrypt valuable data?

"Data on the machines was backed up, but not encrypted. "The laptops were worth thousands, but in terms of intellectual property the potential damage to the business is a hell of a lot more," said marketing manager Barry McLeod"...

Why not to encrypt valuable data? Isn't it worth sixty dollars or even free program? Dekart Private Disk, Truecrypt, Drivecrypt - there is a lot of such software in the market.

Just read an interesting story about this: Private Disk Timeline at http://www.lazybit.com/

3. Pascal Monett Silver badge

Fear that (the theft was) aimed at gathering trade secrets

Well duh, guvnor. No really, what makes them think that ? It could very well be that the thieves just decided that they needed a bit of disk space for their home computer, and decided to drag out some of the hot-swappable disks from the RAID array. All that after just happening to stumble upon the door to the server room on the second sub-basement level, with its card reader and all that. Door that they just happened to pry open with a crowbar by accident.