back to article Red Hat, Novell sued for patent infringment

Just days after Steve Ballmer again raised the spectre of patent lawsuits being filed against Linux companies, Red Hat is being sued for patent infringement. Ballmer told developers in London that anyone using Red Hat software effectively owed him money. Ballmer said: "People who use Red Hat, at least with respect to our …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ian Loveridge
    Thumb Down

So thats all *nix's then.

So all *nix, Citrix and Terminal Servers need to licence this functionality? Pfft. sad.

2. Chris
    Gates Horns

And so it begins...

No doubt this will be the first of many and will be drawn out as long as possible to make it as expensive as possible to defend against.

3. ryan

Software patents.

As a developer i can see the merit of software patents, but the whole system is wide open to abuse.

Patenting functionality just isn't cricket, and these patents seem to only come to light when a vague interpretation of their actual intent can be used to leaver huge punitive lawsuits and generally shit on a developer the patent holder doesn't like.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Boffin

now

I know I'm obviously not smart enough to work at the US Patent office but how is

"User Interface with Multiple Workspaces for Sharing Display System Objects"

An invention?

In the states would it be possible for example (if it weren't prior art an all) To patent the use of a "single pencil on multiple instances of Paper by sharing a common table"?

5. Kevin Turnquist
    Gates Horns

VC needs a new icon ...

Where is the "Ballmer as Antichrist" icon?

Oh, well, this will have to do.

6. Ken Hagan Gold badge

Another day, another dumb patent.

The patent appears to be from 1987, covering what in modern parlance we'd call multiple monitors for a single desktop. Let's see now ... prior art? obvious?

Perhaps I've misread the patent. After all, my first language is English, not Total Bollocks.