back to article Tune your service oriented applications with SQL

Performance is one of the more insidious problems that a developer can face. We don't seem to have time for it with all work just getting an application's functionally correct. The problem is that it's a non-functional requirement and as with all non-functional requirements the specification is often either vague or non- …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. RichardB
    Alert

Hardly news, perhaps a lesson that must be relearned

As a DBA I would say that the majority of developers I see working on databases have no concept of performance considerations.

There are often tuning opportunities well beyond the order of magnitude - you can often find things that take 10 - 30s and pare them down to a few milliseconds. Daily loading tasks that ease over the 'day in a day' threshold can be brought down to a few minutes.

This is all usually before you even get as far as remodelling the database design, just making sure the queries aren't doing frankly stupid things.

By investing in serious DBAs and serious dedicated SQL Developers to work alongside the client side developers you can make quite astonishing improvements to concurrency and throughput.

As I said - not a new concept at all, but then lessons do seem to have to be learned over, and over and over again in the IT industry.

2. Bruno Girin
    Thumb Up

Spot on

The last J2EE project I worked on, we did some serious performance tuning: more than 90% of the tuning was optimizing SQL queries. So when on Oracle, learn how to use and understand stats packs and execution plans.

As usual, it's a case of using the KISS principle. If your database schema looks too complicated, it probably is and you will end up doing a stupid amount of joins that will make your app grind to a halt. This tends to happen when you try to map a complex object model to a relational database.