back to article Microsoft releases Windows 7 to MSDN, TechNet today

Microsoft is shoving the finalised version of Windows 7 out the door today for a select bunch of customers. The operating system, which was released to manufacturing last month, is now available to TechNet and MSDN subscribers. Additionally, some independent software and hardware vendors can also expect to get their mitts on …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Paul Stephenson 1

Now?

"The operating system, which was released to manufacturing last month, is now available to TechNet and MSDN subscribers."

I don't see it, presumably it'll be released when America wakes up and starts it's working day?

2. Anonymous Coward
    Stop

Not Available Yet

I have a MSDN subscription but the windows 7 bits are still unavailable to me (annoyingly).

3. Efros

quote from technet

"Thanks for your inquiry, Efros. Possibly, the Windows 7 would be released in the afternoon Pacific daylight time."

4. NogginTheNog
    Thumb Up

That's my weekend sorted then!

Been running 7 RC for a few weeks and am liking it quite a bit, but it has hung hibernating a couple of times, and completely frozen on me 3 times (something XP hasn't done for years), so I'm keen to get the RTM installed and see if that any better!

5. Geoff Mackenzie

Excellent!

I've been needing to run chkdsk /r for ages.

6. Gary F

I can't wait

While upgrading to Windows 7 (a fresh install) I will take the oppertunity to celebrate and replace my hard drive with a SSD. Windows 7 should work slightly better with SSD and I'm so fed up of waiting for Windows to boot off mechanical drives.

I've been waiting for an inprovement to XP for half a decade.

7. Joe 55

Jockeying for position on MSDN

Well now I feel dumb for getting up at 12:01 am today...

8. Bill Gould
    Gates Halo

Scheduled and ready