back to article Can replication replace backup?

We are asking Reg reader experts - and a chief technology officer - to have a look at interesting issues in storage. The first topic is: Can replication replace backup? Backup started as saving a copy of data to tape. For many users it now means saving a copy to disk, either as a straight file backup or as a virtual tape …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Andy 4
    Linux

Everyone has views

I work in a school and we use rsync very successfully, employing 20 minute document changes across the entire 46TB of data and can go back as far as July 2009 currently. That includes all user shares and associated data, DC installs and other infrastructure and is all driven by our own scripts and purchasing decisions for the arrays - no business involvement and thus minimal costs.

The different arrays (3 of them currently) are housed in separate buildings across the site and we are also moving onto involving the other local schools to house a monthly copy of eachothers data.

This has been in place since April 2009 and when you take into account time, time to recover (seconds), the disks being relatively inexpensive and growth potential I think it outshines any tape based system completely. We used to use tapes but times have changed.

3. Aussie Brusader
    Thumb Up

I agree with all the above

Replication is for your system.

Backup is for your data.

Keep It Simple.

1. Andy Enderby 1

replication for your system ?

A charitable organisation I worked for for a while, against my advice applied all MS issued patches at time of release with no quarantine or roll out period. This policy was directly implicated in bricking about two thirds of the desktops in the organisation on a couple of organisations.