back to article Selling Apples to Japan: Complicated as a Nipponese typewriter

I'm an artist who's always been fascinated by computers - ever since junior high math club. My first computer was a plastic toy cogwork Turing machine called the DigiComp 1. I ran a mailing list on punchcards for the school newspaper. I used a PLATO IV - a PC before the era of microprocessors, whose storage ran on compressed …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. MattW

Nothing new then

Looks like the Apple culture hasn't changed a lot (as evidenced with their vice-like control of newer 'i' devices).

"I want to do this"

"You can't"

"But why, it's a great idea"

"Because we say so"

2. Aaron Em

Apple squandered its leadership everywhere

Why should Japan be any different?

3. Arri
    Grenade

Fantastic post, very insightful...

but surely it would be better if it was entitled "How I saved Japan from a DOS/Wintel Tsunami"

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

First to support Japanese

And yet they've never produced a proper UK keyboard. How strangely lazy of them

1. Scott Mckenzie

Depends what you're used to...

... to me the keyboard as standard on PC's is all wrong.

1. StooMonster
        Grenade

Except

#

Why the anti hash hate on British keyboards Apple? Yes I know in Mac OSX I press alt_3 but when I run Boot Camp I don't know how to make it happen in Windows.

My solution is to use Windows keyboard layout rather than the Boot Camp Apple keyboard layout, this means what's physically printed on key doesn't match what appears on the screen -- hey, I've typed for years, they could be blank in all honesty (for the most part) -- but it's still annoying.

1. Scott Mckenzie

See your point

I don't use Boot Camp though and of the keys i use regularly, i don't use # on a PC and find the " mark to be far better located on a Mac....

As i said, it depends on what you're used to, and clearly what you use regularly.

2. jonathanb Silver badge

Re: Except