back to article You've heard of Rollercoaster Tycoon – but we can't wait for Server Tycoon

Kickstarter-funded developers are trying to create of a massively multiplayer online (MMO) game based on the world of data centers. Yes, data centers. Server Tycoon will place the player in charge of a small server farm with the goal to build their facility into a massive compute center, competing against other players in the …

Page:

1. SoaG

So 3 guys...

...gaming since 1981 and somehow 20 years experience, not each, but combined?

1. DavCrav

Re: So 3 guys...

"So 3 guys...

...gaming since 1981 and somehow 20 years experience, not each, but combined?"

I played computer games since about 1985/6, so when I was 3 or 4, and I have no years experience in server administration.

1. chivo243 Silver badge
        Trollface

Re: So 3 guys...

My first computer game was on a portable computer my mom brought home in the mid 70's. It came in 3 or 4 suitcases and took the entire kitchen table to set up. Then she had to dial into her work network so I could play some desert war game. It was a grid of characters and progress from the left of the screen to the right with the arrow keys, each letter or number represented some granted power or a pitfall...

I think the mainframe she dialed into was an HP 2000 or 3000. I'm told these systems are still in use too! My mom has long retired, and her position is still vacant.

I've been in server administration for 15 years and have no experience either! LOL

2. Grade%
    Black Helicopters

Hmm,

Are we really sure it's a game? What if it's a cunning plan to outsource admins by turning the job into a game? That you PAY for? Lol, in Russia game plays YOU!

1. Grikath

Re: Hmm,