back to article My name is Trevor, and I'm ... an IT consultant

For years I worked as a sysadmin, as addicted to late night security patch updates as I was to bad coffee and long hours. One day I woke and decided enough was enough. It was time to get clean and become an IT consultant. This is my story. While the barriers to setting up your own IT consultancy vary from jurisdiction to …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. ukgnome
    Thumb Up

I miss the days when I had my own business, but don't miss the days I dashed it against the rocks.

Oh, and as for accounting software - I used quick books, well actually mu monthly accountant did. Seriously if you are going down this route get an accountant, and if you plan on cabling offices become friends with an electrician.

2. mark 63 Silver badge
    IT Angle

so what is an IT consultant?

When we actually sat down to plan out what the company would do, we envisioned "IT in a can."

Now this is my ignorance, not your fault, but .......

So , er , what do you do?

Is this any different from being an I.T. Contractor?

1. Trevor_Pott Gold badge

Re: so what is an IT consultant?

That depends on which immigration official you talk to. Some call it management consultant, others "computer systems analyst." For some clients I'm a contractor...pushing buttons and fixing widgets. For others I serve an almost CTO role; setting strategy, handling subcontractors, vendors, etc on their behalf. For other clients, I write content. That runs the gamut of jobs titles, I should think.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I'm a British citizen and can visit the US for 'work meetings' (which has included giving training courses) without a visa. I can't turn up and get employed there - that would need a Visa

I'd be amazed if a Canadian employee cannot do the same and just visit for 'meetings'

We can't