back to article Blighty's schools shake on new 3-year deal with Microsoft

The Department for Education claims a three-year Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with Microsoft will save schools £10m on licensing over the next three years, in part by "factoring freeware" into the deal. The agreement began 1 January and runs until the end of 2015 giving schools across the UK the option to buy Microsoft …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. t20racerman
    Linux

Feed the children Microsoft crack whilst young....

... and they stay hooked for life. :-(

I'm a Physics teacher in the UK and despair of the "All computers and Software are made by Microsoft" approach in FAR too many schools. OOo or Libre Office, Firefox, Chrome etc are all BANNED from being used in my school as 'dangerous' to the network'! Open Source is deemed as virus riddled insecure stuff and is all banned... although we use Java!!!

1. Anonymous Coward
      FAIL

Re: Feed the children Microsoft crack whilst young....

I agree, teach them using Open Office and Linux, then when they hit the real world where 99% of businesses use MS Office they will be as useless at that, as many other things you teach them in school.

This Mr Teacher is what happens when people live in the academic world and not the business world, they live in a fantasy utopia that lives in the land of theory and ideal scenarios and not reality.

Don't worry happens at universities as well, if not more.

I'm happy for them to have a mix to open their eyes, but to exclude MS completely is just a stupid, stupid move.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"but to exclude MS completely is just a stupid, stupid move"

I agree, but don't see why the tax payer should pay MS here as it is, in effect, a free advert and product promotion.

Hell, it might be the case that if enough big gov users have Linux as an OS of choice but are open to MS they would offer Office for it. That would benefit everyone really.