back to article SOD Big Data! Most of what you're keeping is digital landfill

I've been an industry analyst a long time – and I have seen a lot of "the next big things" come and go. In fact our appetite as an industry for the next big thing rivals that of Simon Cowell in pursuit of the next big star. And just as Simon's "stars" are usually anything but, so too are we in the IT sector often deluded, and …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. K
    Thumb Up

It's a 360° turnaround that is long overdue

Surely you mean its a 180° turn around?

But your are correct, this does need some reality check. When you have some SMEs with only a few GB of data, most of which is 5-10 years old and now completely irrelevant, yet they jump onto the "Hadoop" bandwagon. All because a) another company did it or b) their CEO heard the phrase "Big Data" from an "informed article" and they suddenly read it as "Big Money over this hill" , which vendors are only too pleased to encourage.

Its the blind leading the blind...

2. Michael H.F. Wilkinson Silver badge
    Thumb Up

It is also about pattern recognition

Indiscriminate adding of data makes finding any information hard. There is a real risk of drowning interesting patterns in noise. Data != Information

As I like to tell students (over and over again): Adding hay does not make finding needles easier

We do do some work on really big data (vast amount of image data from astronomy and remote sensing), but that data has lots of internal structure which helps finding stuff.

3. EyeCU

The great Joan Rivers?

There is nothing 'great' about that evil harpy just because she has managed to make a career of being a total spiteful bitch. Here's what Adam Hills thinks http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOcAIGFma5Q

1. K

Re: The great Joan Rivers?

Joan Rivers, a living legend in my book!

4. Josco

Good sense there....