back to article Asterisk mauled by buffer overflow bug

Buffer overflows - the perennial cause of security vulnerabilities in desktop applications - may become a worry for sys admins managing computerised telephone switchboards in the wake of the recent discovery of bugs in a popular IP PBX package. A trio of vulnerabilties in the Asterisk range of open source IP-PBX software …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Flame

Buffer overflow?

What is the excuse for writing business-critical software in unmanaged languages?

2. mixbsd

SIP channel driver

I would say the 2nd bug would be the most serious. Anyone who is able to make unauthenticated calls could certainly make it a very expensive bug to exploit.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Ummm...

Buffer overflows have been around forever as a vulnerability. Surely they would be part of some basic audit process?

I'm not a programmer so I'm slathering on the barbecue sauce in preparation for the flames.

4. Mage Silver badge
    Unhappy

unmanaged languages

Most stuff is in C, C++, C#, VB.

Ada and Modula-2 can be used simply to write programs immune to these tricks, but the success of Linux/Unix & Windows has made the C family too popular and held back IT by 20 years at least.

5. Ishkandar
    Unhappy

Buffer overflows ???

And to think that the Western World keep pointing fingers at the Chinese for shoddy workmanship !! I thought "Buffer overflows" were beaten out of young programmers in my time (>30 years ago) !! "Test, test and test again to destruction" was the litany in those days !! One didn't get to go home unless the damn thing could stand up to all possible conditions !!

I blame the dot,com bubble for generating extravagant expectations in the IT industry in return for shoddy workmanship !! There's no longer any pride in doing a good job. Just pure greed !!

6. Lou Gosselin

VOIP via SIP