back to article VMware waves goodbye to Zimbra

VMware has offloaded Zimbra less than four years after buying the email-cum-collabware business unit from Yahoo! Terms are undisclosed. The buyer is Telligent, a developer of enterprise social software. It will merge its software into Zimbra, and the goal is to deliver a "unified social collaboration suite designed for the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

The light dawns

Proxad.net (free.fr) started offering zimbra as an alternative to their web based e-mail several months ago and you should read the adverse comments about it on the newsgroup - no one appears to be very happy where they have changed over. Since I don't use web-mail I haven't seen the problems but am left wondering what will happen now.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

It's a real shame.

I've been using Zimbra for the past 4 years partly because it's a cheaper and IMO better alternative to exchange and partly because there isn't really much other enterprise e-mail software out there with 'real time' delivery.

Since VMware brought it from Yahoo the project seems stalled. I can only hope now that Telligent ain't gonna make it more costly and bundle it with a load of stuff my company doesn't need.

Seriously, why hasn't anyone else made a successful enterprise email server with real time capabilities and decent security options? I feel like emails have been stuck in the 90s forever.

1. Michael Hoffmann Silver badge
      Happy

Re: It's a real shame.

Note I am in no way involved with the company, just a content (as in happy) user of the software: give Communigate Pro a look.