back to article MPs: This paperless health service plan isn't worth the paper it isn't written on

MPs doubt that the Health Secretary's plans to make the NHS paperless by 2018 will be on time and budget, based on Whitehall's shambolic handling of the abandoned electronic health care record system. The widely derided National Programme for IT (NPfIT) was first signed off by ministers in 2002 under the previous Labour …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. AceRimmer

Instead of paying through the nose or consultancys

That money could have paid for a lot of hookers

The end result would have been slightly better if not too dissimilar

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Instead of paying through the nose or consultancys

Or better yet a load of nurses...

1. Great Bu

As a nurse myself I strongly objectto the suggestion that the money should have been spent on nurses instead of hookers - we could have had a hooker each by now !

1. mmiied

how abut we compromise and pay hookers to work in hospitails

"hello nurse" indeed

1. Great Bu

OK, I'm in.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

These reports are always the same, they go on about the whole system being a failure and just point to it being an electronic records system.

There's a lot more to it than that:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NHS_Connecting_for_Health#Deliverables

Having seen the imaging system in use when I took my mother to A&E it is a lot better than waiting ages for film developing. The images can be retrieved quickly from anywhere.

1. JimmyPage Silver badge
      Thumb Down

Ah yes

those images stored in proprietary systems, as I discovered when I asked for a copy.

2. Dr_N

"Having seen the imaging system in use when I took my mother to A&E it is a lot better than waiting ages for film developing. The images can be retrieved quickly from anywhere."

You can have digital imagery without spunking £10bn on a centralized storage/sharing system.