back to article Ten things you always wanted to know about IP Voice

When I was a contractor building IT architectures, it was common to find that people had a rather old phone system and were looking to move to something newer. The question they asked was always: what shall we do to get something stable but future-proof? Phone lines or IP trunks? Even in 2015 you seldom see an organisation …

1. Simple Si

"If your phones can only do 100Mbps Ethernet and your users whinge that this isn't fast enough, tell them to get lost. Generally it is fine unless they are doing stuff like throwing high-res graphics and video around. If your phones can do Gigabit, you will have no problem."

Or, just add another gigabit network cable to the user's PC...

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

"Or, just add another gigabit network cable to the user's PC..."

Which PC would normally be connected to the LAN via the phone...

1. Nick Ryan Silver badge

Which PC would normally be connected to the LAN via the phone...

It's quite common for VOIP phones to connect to the PC's network connector and to have a "pass-through" connector to connect the phone to the PC. These phones are effectively 3 port network switches, with the three connections being 1) the wall socket, 2) the phone and 3) the PC. These network switches are usually 100, not Gigabit ports.

While this may sound an odd thing to do, it greatly reduces the number of network ports required although many sites have a socket for the phone and a socket for the PC in place already, it just depends on whether or not the phone socket can be repurposed as a network socket or not. You'd be surprised how many can't be!

2. Lee D Silver badge

"Incidentally, I have had many clients and users moan over the years that the phone has been slowing down the PC. They were all wrong so don't fall for it."

I find the suggestion to just dismiss their concerns pretty amateur.