back to article Speculative Googlenetbook specs surface

Mere days after the first rumors of an impending Google-built netbook hit the web, purported details of its innards have surfaced. Rumors of a Googlebook mirror the speculation that preceded the emergence earlier this month of Mountain View's HTC-manufactured, Android-powered Googlephone Nexus One smartphone. Those …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Graham Dawson Silver badge

What for the price of what?

If I saw a Ferrari for the price of a mini cooper I'd check it wasn't just a glass fibre ferrari body stuck to an old ford cortina.

2. heyrick Silver badge

Price and featureset

I'm a pro-ARM person, having grown up with various Acorn machines etc. The specs look reasonably attractive, though history suggests that "sub-$300" will probably mean "sub-£300" never mind the exchange rate.

This then puts it in line with various eeePC models. Such as the one I'm using right now, the 901XP.

Within the limitations of what software will initially be available for the platform, at that kind of price I expect it to do the same sort of things as my eeePC - meaning I can word-process, program, read PDFs, etc etc without having to worry about whether or not I am "connected"...

For anybody who thinks a nice simple little Internet machine is just the ticket, don't forget the Bush Internet Box which ended up being offloaded for a tenner apiece just to get rid of them. Technically reasonable at the time, the things suffered from being over-simplified.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Hm

Not bad, but I wouldn't go as far as to say that this *could* be a ferrari for the price of a mini cooper or whatever (btw, afaik mini cooper is now kind of accepted as a stylish car, so not especially cheap for its specs but well).