back to article DEC: The best of systems, the worst of systems

Which were the greatest DEC computers and why? Which were the worst - and why? Everyone has their own definition of greatest and worst, and exemplars of each, but I'm looking at the machines that had the most or the least influence. Since DEC under Olsen got a lot of things right, it's quicker and easier starting from the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

There *will* be some Reg readers

Who could guess where I studied ...

Main computer facilities were PR1MEs (yay !) and Norsk Data (running SINTRAN). However, tucked away in our faculty were two gems, a VAX 730 running VMS and a PDP-11. The year I started they had stopped using the PDP-11, so it was open season ... I got myself setup as an Admin, and taught myself sysadmin skills ...

Wonderful machine, for what it was.

1. Scott 53
      Thumb Up

Thank you, Sir or Madam

I've never heard anyone else ever mention SINTRAN. I used to work for Norsk in the late 90s writing reports on their call management system. The technical skills I learned there became obsolete quicker than any other skillset I have acquired before or since.

2. JimP

The title is required - that's like Missing " 9 on a BBC model B

Thames Polytechnic had Norsk Data and PR1ME machines in the 1980s, so I'd guess you studied there. I did too. We used the PDP-11 for cross compiling stuff for 8085 boards, so it was either the same faculty or they had more than one PDP-11. One of my mistakes used enough punched tape to go right around my room in the halls of residence. I also got the badge of honour on the PR1ME, which was to get it to respond "fatal error in crawl out". In my first year there the PR1MES didn't have a full screen editor, so there wasn't much "yay" about them.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Black Helicopters

believe me ...

if you'd used a Sperry 1100/70 (running the Sperry OS) you'd think PR1MEs were a yay too.